Compare destinations

London or Cambridge?

Two places visitors weigh up, side by side. Every figure comes from our guides, the Met Office, National Rail or an event organizer, and we do not rank either one.

London guide · Cambridge guide

Who each place suits

mixed

London

The capital, in 22 neighborhood guides.

Our guide covers 22 areas, with 286 sights, 584 places to eat and drink and 216 places to stay, and 166 theater venues in the directory.

Most common sight types we list: Museum (55), Attraction (45), Park (35).

37% of the 178 sights we tag are outdoor places and 63% are indoors, so it reads as mixed.

Our London guide is split into 22 neighborhood guides and does not state a suggested stay.

outdoor-leaning

Cambridge

A university city of colleges, bridges and riverside meadows on the River Cam.

Our guide covers 4 areas, with 59 sights, 107 places to eat and drink and 20 places to stay, and 5 theater venues in the directory.

Most common sight types we list: College (16), Museum (8), Church (5).

51% of the 39 sights we tag are outdoor places and 49% are indoors, so it reads as outdoor-leaning.

Our Cambridge guide suggests 1 to 2 days; its sample plans run from half day to 2 days.

Side by side

Facts only. Counts show how much our guides list, not how much exists. “Reported” means tagged on OpenStreetMap or a venue’s own page: check with the venue.

London and Cambridge: counts from our guides, climate averages and events.
ItemLondonCambridge
Country England England
Areas in our guide 22 4
Sights listed 286 59
Places to eat and drink listed 584 107
Places to stay listed 216 20
Theater venues in our directory 166 5
Eat, stay and theater entries reported step-free 247 24
Eat, stay and theater entries marked family-friendly 3 0
Character from sight types Mixed (37% of 178 tagged sights are outdoors) Outdoor-leaning (51% of 39 tagged sights are outdoors)
Suggested stay in our guide Not stated 1 to 2 days
Average high in July Not in our climate data yet 23.1°C1
Average high in January Not in our climate data yet 7.7°C1
Rain in a year (sum of monthly averages) Not in our climate data yet 561 mm on about 107 days1
Sunshine in a year (sum of monthly averages) Not in our climate data yet 1522 hours1
Daylight mid-June / mid-December (calculated) 16 h 37 / 7 h 51 16 h 45 / 7 h 43
Dated events in our calendar 39 dated, from organiser pages 5 dated, from organizer pages
Weather station used None yet Cambridge, NIAB
Between the twoAbout 50 miles (80 km) in a straight line. Fastest published train: 48 min2. Journey details

Climate: Met Office 1991-2020 averages, stored Oct 25, 2026. Each station sits in or near the region, not necessarily in the town, so differences of a degree or two or small rainfall gaps can come from the station rather than the place. Daylight is calculated from latitude, not a Met Office figure.

Choose London if… choose Cambridge if…

Choose London if you…

  • want more to see around one base: our London guide lists 286 sights across 22 areas, against 59 across 4 for Cambridge.
  • prefer museums, galleries, churches and other indoor sights: 63% of the sights we tag in London are indoors, against 49% in Cambridge.
  • an evening at the theater is part of the plan: our directory lists 166 venues in London, against 5 for Cambridge.

Choose Cambridge if you…

  • would rather cover a smaller place: our Cambridge guide lists 59 sights across 4 areas, against 286 across 22 for London.
  • want walking, coast, parks or hills: 51% of the sights we tag in Cambridge are outdoor places, against 37% in London.

Each line appears only where our data shows a clear gap. The thresholds are listed under “How we write this”.

How many days each needs

  • Our London guide is split into 22 neighborhood guides and does not state a suggested stay. London guide
  • Our Cambridge guide suggests 1 to 2 days; its sample plans run from half day to 2 days. Cambridge guide

These are our guides’ suggestions, not a rule. Add travel time between places: fastest published train 48 min.

Plan both

These itineraries include both places:

Questions people ask

How far apart are London and Cambridge?

About 50 miles (80 km) in a straight line between the region centers. National Rail publishes a fastest journey of 48 min.

How many days do I need in London and in Cambridge?

Our London guide is split into 22 neighborhood guides and does not state a suggested stay. Our Cambridge guide suggests 1 to 2 days; its sample plans run from half day to 2 days.

Is London better than Cambridge?

We do not rank destinations. This page shows where our data differs so you can match it to your own interests, season and time.

Can I visit London and Cambridge on one trip?

Yes: Bookish Britain by rail (4 days), Oxford, Cambridge and London (5 days) combine both.

Editorial note. We do not claim one destination ranks above another. There are no scores, no “best”, and no cost levels, because we hold no sourced price data. For prices, check each operator or venue.

Facts last checked Nov 1, 2026.

How we write this

  • Counts come from our own region guides (sights, eat and drink, stays) and theater directories. A “Choose … if” line appears only when the gap is at least: 1.25x and 8 sights; 10 percentage points of outdoor share; 1.5x and 5 theater venues; 1.5°C in July or January highs; 15% in yearly rain; 10% in yearly sunshine.
  • Character: outdoor-leaning at 50% or more of tagged sights outdoors, city-leaning at 30% or less, otherwise mixed. Tags come from the sight type (park, museum, church and so on) with a short list of overrides in src/data/weather-fit.json.
  • Step-free and family-friendly counts include only entries tagged on OpenStreetMap or a venue page; many entries carry no tag, so a low count does not mean low access.

Sources

  1. Met Office: Cambridge, NIAB, 1991-2020 averages (for Cambridge)
  2. National Rail: Visit Cambridge by train. table "Journey time from"

Sights, places to eat and stay, suggested stays and events come from our London and Cambridge guides, each of which cites its sources. Journey times are as National Rail publishes them, retrieved Oct 25, 2026, and are not schedules.

Related comparisons

All comparisons Where to go each month